English | Français | Español | русский
igc logoLog in
International Grains Council

press release

1 April 2020

The Republic of Serbia: Accession to the Grains Trade Convention, 1995

Further to the application received from the Republic of Serbia to accede to the Grains Trade Convention, 1995 (GTC), the International Grains Council (IGC) is pleased to confirm that members have agreed to the Republic of Serbia’s accession with effect from Wednesday 1 April 2020.

During the 2019/20 marketing year, the Republic of Serbia produced around 7.5m t. of maize and 2.5m t. of wheat. With average annual maize exports of 2.5m t, the Republic of Serbia is also the world’s eighth largest maize exporter. It has been designated as an exporting member of the Council.

The Council warmly welcomes the Republic of Serbia’s membership. Its participation will help strengthen international cooperation in grains trade.

The IGC membership currently comprises the following members:

Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Canada, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Egypt, European Union, India, Iran, Iraq, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Korea (Rep), Morocco, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Serbia (Rep), South Africa, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Vatican City.

For more information on the International Grains Council, please see: www.igc.int

PR(IGC April 2020)

Press Release Archive